Nobel International Junior School offers the Cambridge Lower Secondary programme. Cambridge Lower Secondary is typically for learners aged 11 to 14 years. It builds on the foundations of Cambridge Primary, although it is not essential to have completed that stage before beginning Cambridge Lower Secondary.

Cambridge Lower Secondary provides excellent preparation for Cambridge Upper Secondary and other educational systems.

Cambridge Pathway Stage
Lower Secondary Year 7
Year 8
Year 9

This is just a guide as students who intend to join Nobel International School will have to sit for a placement test.

SUBJECTS OFFERED (Lower Secondary)

  • English (First/Second Language)
  • *Malay (First/Foreign Language)
  • Mandarin (Second/ Foreign/ FUNdamental Language)
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • History
  • Geography
  • Global Perspectives
  • Bible Knowledge
  • Literature
  • **Islamic Studies
  • Art & Design
  • Information & Communication Technology
  • Physical Education
  • Health Education


* Compulsory for Malaysian students

** Compulsory for Muslim students


Subject Selection (students must choose ONE (1) from below):

  • Literature
  • Bible Knowledge


Students from Junior School will automatically progress to Senior School. At the end of Cambridge Upper Secondary, students will take the Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE), which is typically designed for students aged 14 to 16 years.

Cambridge IGCSE provides excellent preparation for the Cambridge Advanced stage including Cambridge International AS & A Levels, Cambridge Pre-U as well as other progression routes.

Cambridge IGCSE encourages student-centred and enquiry-based approaches to learning. It develops a student’s skills in creative thinking, enquiry and problem solving – giving them excellent preparation for the next stage in their education.

Cambridge IGCSE develops a student’s knowledge, understanding and skills in:

  • Subject content
  • Applying knowledge and understanding to familiar and new situations
  • Intellectual enquiry
  • Flexibility and responsiveness to change
  • Working and communicating in English
  • Influencing outcomes
  • Cultural awareness
Cambridge Pathway Stage
Upper Secondary Year 10
Year 11

This is just a guide as students who intend to join Nobel International School will have to sit for a placement test.

SUBJECTS OFFERED (Cambridge Upper Secondary)

  • English (First/Second Language)
  • *Malay (Foreign Language)
  • Mandarin (Second/ Foreign Language)
  • Mathematics
  • Additional Mathematics
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Physics
  • Combined Science
  • History
  • Economics
  • Literature
  • Global Perspectives
  • **Islamic Studies
  • *Malaysian Studies
  • Art & Design
  • Information & Communication Technology
  • Accounting
  • Business Studies
  • Physical Education


*Compulsory for Malaysian students.

The Cambridge Assessment International Education will offer IGCSE Malay as a First Language Examination starting from 2021 onwards.

**Compulsory for Muslim students


The assessment and evaluation for Junior and Senior School is a continuation from Elementary School. There are two types of assessments: Internal and External.

The internal assessment is divided into 5 components, namely Homework, Class Participation, Coursework, Test and Examination. Homework, Class Participation and Coursework fall under continuous assessment while Test and Examination are components under assessment of learning. The approach to assessment is balanced with a view to develop holistic students.



The main objective of including homework as part of assessment and evaluation is to ensure that students take responsibility of their learning by completing work that has been assigned to them. Students are expected to complete and submit all assigned work on time. Homework marks are given based on submission of assigned work (both classwork and homework), completion of tasks and quality of work.

The main aim of class participation is to encourage good student participation in learning within the classroom. Marks are allocated based on a student’s classroom behaviour and participation.

Coursework is an assigned task that stretches over an extended period of time. It could vary between 2 weeks to 2 months. Most coursework requires students to do research and demonstrate the ability to manipulate knowledge and information and make them relevant to the assigned task. It should also demonstrate creative and critical thinking skills suited to the student’s level.

A test is to measure the student’s knowledge and understanding of what was taught in class for the first half of the term.

An examination is to test the student’s ability to recall facts, apply relevant information and demonstrate a good level of understanding of what has been taught. The student may be required to synthesise concepts and provide personal views and opinions.

In Cambridge Upper Secondary, students will take IGCSE at the middle and end of Year 11. In addition to the Cambridge IGCSE certificate, Nobel International School also intentionally groups the subjects so that students can qualify for the International Certificate of Education (ICE)


Assessment for Cambridge IGCSE includes written and oral tests, coursework and practical assessment.

In some subjects (English, Mathematics, Sciences) there is a choice between core and extended curricula, making IGCSE suitable for a wide range of abilities. Each student’s performance is benchmarked using eight internationally recognised grades (A* – G). There are clear guidelines which explain the standard of achievement for different grades.

Nobel International School takes Mandarin and Malay papers in the May/June series whereas the rest are taken in the October/November series of the same academic year. Results are released in August and January respectively.


Cambridge International Certificate of Education (ICE) is the group award of the IGCSE and requires the study of subjects drawn from the five different IGCSE subject groups (see list below). It gives schools the opportunity to benefit from offering a broad and balanced curriculum by recognising the achievements of students who pass examinations in at least seven subjects.

A wide range of IGCSE subjects is available and these are grouped into five curriculum areas, as follows:

  • Group I: Languages
  • Group II: Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Group III: Sciences
  • Group IV: Mathematics
  • Group V: Professional & Creative

The subjects selected must include two languages, and one subject from each of the other four subject groups. The seventh subject can be taken from any of the five subject groups.